Thursday, 12 January 2017

Presenting - 'The Turbulent Crown - The Story of the Tudor Queens'

It's finally out! Enjoy!

Ten remarkable women.
One remarkable era.

In the Tudor period, 1485–1603, a host of fascinating women sat on the English throne. The dramatic events of their lives are told in The Turbulent Crown: The Story of the Tudor Queens of England.

The Turbulent Crown begins with the story of Elizabeth of York, who survived conspiracy, murder, and dishonour to become the first Tudor Queen, bringing peace and order to England after years of civil war. From there, the reader is taken through the parade of Henry VIII’s six wives - two of whom, Anne Boleyn and Katheryn Howard, would lose their heads against a backdrop of intrigue and scandal.

The Turbulent Crown continues with the tragedy of Lady Jane Grey, the teenager who ruled for nine days until overthrown by her cousin Mary Tudor. But Mary’s reign, which began in triumph, ended in disaster, leading to the emergence of her sister, Elizabeth I, as the greatest of her family and of England’s monarchs.


Tuesday, 9 August 2016

Anne Boleyn at Lyndhurst Mansion, New York

A version of the 'B' pendant portrait of Anne Boleyn can be found at Lyndhurst Mansion, in Tarrytown, New York.

Click here for more information.

Sunday, 24 April 2016

The Shadow of the Tower (1972)

Before Henry VIII and Elizabeth I, there was Henry VII: BBC Two's The Shadow of the Tower (1972).

Thanks to the person who posted these videos online.

1. Crown In Jeopardy

2. The Earth Is Not Enough

3. The Schooling Of Apes

4. The Crowning Of Apes

5. The Serpent And The Comforter

6. The White Hart

7. A Fly In The Ointment

8. The Princely Gift

9. Do The Sheep Sin?

10. The Man Who Never Was

11. The Strange Shapes Of Reality

12. The Fledgling

13. The King Without A Face